Norway’s Melodi Grand Prix 2023: The 21 Artists Competing!

Norwegian broadcaster NRK has today revealed the 21 artists that will compete in Melodi Grand Prix 2023.

Norway’s Eurovision pre-selection has had a few changes made to it this year. The semi-finals have been cut from five to just three and they will be bigger – seven artists will compete in each semi-final, as opposed to the usual four. Three artists from each semi will advance to the final, based on viewer votes. Also different this year, is the fact that there will be no pre-qualified finalists – every artist will compete in the same way, via the semi-finals.

Amongst the line-up we have no less than four artists who have won Melodi Grand Prix before. Kate Gulbrandsen previously represented Norway at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1987, Stig van Eijk in 1999 and JOWST in 2017. Ulrikke would have represented her country at the subsequently cancelled Eurovision in 2020.

Here we’ve got the full line-up, along with which semi-finals each artist and song will be competing in.

Ulrikke – Honestly
Eirik Næss – Wave
Kate Gulbrandsen – Tårer i Paradis
Rasmus Thall – TRESKO
Alessandra Mele – Queen of Kings
JOWST & Byron Williams Jr – Freaky For The Weekend
Umami Tsunami ft. Kyle Alessandro, Kristian Haugstøyl & Magnus Winjum – Geronimo

Sandra Lyng – Drøm d Bort
Jone – Ekko Inni Meg
Swing’ It – Prohibition
Ella – Waist
Alejandro Fuentes – Fuego
Bjørn Olav Edvardsen – Turn Off My Heart
Elsie Bay – Love You In A Dream

Skrellex – Love Again
Tiril Beisland – Break It
Akuvi – Triumph
Atle Pettersen – Masterpiece
Eline Thorp – Not Meant To Be
Maria Celin – Freya
Stig van Eijk – Someday

The songs will be released on the Monday before each semi-final. The first semi takes place on Saturday January 14th, and that batch of seven songs will be released this coming Monday. After three semi-finals, the final takes place on Saturday February 4th.

Visit our merchstore!