Right – you’ve had your chance to take a breath after Heat 2 (and here’s all that went down in THAT cluster-fuck of a night), so now let’s get set for Heat 3 this Saturday night.

Have we already heard Sweden’s Eurovision entry for 2019, or will we get a glimpse of the forthcoming pride of Tel Aviv this weekend instead?

We have seven more artists singing seven more songs. And we could not be more excited about all of them. This is why we’re all here.

SVT have already released one minute clips of each of the songs, and you can listen to them right here, Plus, they’ve also released 30 seconds of each rehearsal, and you can watch those right here. And finally, you can learn more about who’s performing them right here;


Somebody Wants – The Lovers of Valdaro
Success in the annual P4 Nästa competition means that this brand-new duo (consisting of Erik Gabriel and Adam Warhester) won a place in this year’s Melodifestivalen. And judging by their debut EP released last year, we have high hopes that they’ll be performing better than most of the previous P4 Nästa lot have. Y’all also voted them as your Brightest New Hope of 2019 in the last month’s Scandipop Awards – so no pressure guys, but we’re ALL counting on you. Shimmering synthpop has had mixed fortunes in the history of Melodifestivalen. But the combination of Peter Boström and Thomas G:son as songwriters has had more consistent results. We’re rooting for these two chaps.
Songwriters: Peter Boström, Thomas G:son, Erik Høiby.

Habibi – Dolly Style
Believe it or not, these girls are now on their SEVENTH line-up change since their Melodifestivalen debut in 2015. We don’t think it’s unfair to say, however, that the girls wearing the wigs and frocks aren’t really what make Dolly Style so special, and it’s in fact all about the bubblegum-pop bops that they’ve being given to perform. A cursory look at the songwriting credits reveals that, thankfully, those names haven’t rotated quite as frequently as the band members – and so we can look forward to a song on Saturday night of the same quality (quiet at the back) as the shiniest of pop gems in their back catalogue.
Songwriters: Jimmy Jansson, Palle Hammarlund, Robert Norberg.

Låt Skiten Brinna – Martin Stenmarck
He’s gone from winning the whole thing in 2005, to getting eliminated in his heat in 2016. So Christ knows how things will go for him this time. As something of a ‘legacy act’ at this point in his career (sorry Martin), one might assume that it’s probably not going to go the way he will want – though Andreas Johnson proved that theory wrong only last week. Plus, songwriters Tim Larsson and Tobias Lundgren can always be relied upon to provide the tunes. So yeah, to go back to our original summation – Christ knows.
Songwriters: Uno Svenningsson, Tim Larsson, Tobias Lundgren.

Victorious – Lina Hedlund
Our favourite Disco Defender is the first of her band to break-out with a shot at a solo hit since the Alcazar (temporary, we’ll believe nothing else) split. If this isn’t essentially an Alcazar track that has been diva’d up even more, we’ll be vigorously pearl-clutching come 9pm CET on Saturday night. 2018 was the year of Party Voice, and we’re hoping that 2019 will be the year of Afterparty Voice.
Songwriters: Melanie Wehbe, Richard Edwards, Dino Medanhodzic, Johanna Jansson.

Om Om Och Om Igen – Omar Rudberg
And from one fabulous queen to another. Omar spent most of his later years in boyband FO&O, out-camping even Oscar Enestad’s bouffant hairdo. QUITE the feat. His desire to stick out via a purposeful pout and a fabulous flounce demonstrated that he was always perfect for an eventual shot at solo popstardom. Last year’s reggaeton banger ‘La Mesa‘ proved that notion right, and we have no doubt that he will be delivering the goods on Saturday night as well. However, as last week’s results proved, being a former member of FO&O’s doesn’t guarantee the avalanche of votes we once assumed it would. Regardless of what happens though, as with Oscar, Omar’s performance will be one to remember for the ages.
Songwriters: Omar Rudberg, Johan Lindbrandt, Robin Stjernberg, Jens Hult.

Who I Am – Rebecka Karlsson
She’s done Sweden’s Got Talent (finalist), she’d done Swedish Idol (first runner-up), and so it was always inevitable that 18-year-old Rebecka Karlsson would end up doing Melodifestivalen too. It’s been almost two years since the release of her last single though (the excellent ‘Can’t Stop‘), so it’s difficult to tell what she’s gonna be sounding like in 2019. Though with Anderz Wrethov on board as a songwriter, it’s probably not going to be shit, let’s face it. Melodifestivalen 2019 already has form with Idol runner-ups – Hanna Ferm went DIREKT last week.
Songwriters: Rebecka Karlsson, Anderz Wrethov, Henric Pierroff.

Norrsken – Jon Henrik Fjällgren
After finishing in 2nd place and in 3rd place at his first Melodifestivalens, the jojk that gives us a serious case of the yikes is back to nab that remaining finishing position in the Top 3. Rumours are abound though, that he’s abandoned all notions of the sonic tradition he’s become famous for, and will instead be competing with something with a lot more bang. Still folk-like, but harder. Oh my God guys, we’re gonna get the long-awaited return of the Timoteij sound!!! And with those songwriters on board, we know that he’s not here to fuck around either. We have a sneaking suspicion that he’s gonna keep coming back every two years until he wins, so maybe let’s just save everyone the bother and give it to him now, eh?
Songwriters: Fredrik Kempe, David Kreuger, Niklas Carson Mattsson, Jon Henrik Fjällgren.

Close Menu