Melodifestivalen 2009 – The Writers & Songs

Melodifestivalen logo

SVT have sent all scandipop fans into a tizzy this week by announcing the first 28 song titles and authors that have been chosen to compete in Melodifestivalen 2009 (the other four ‘wildcard’ songs are announced in January. The announcement has resulted in much specualtion about the performers who will be fronting the songs, but more on that later. What is for definite though, is the list below.  

Straight away, there are a few names that cause a sigh of relief (after Charlotte Perrelli‘s result in Belgrade this year, one could be forgiven for thinking that SVT were going to cut down on the schlager in 2009). Firstly, there’s the return of Alcazar, who all have a writing credit on ‘Stay The Night’. Then there’s the surprising return of Alexander Bard, who has writing credits on two songs; ‘It’s My Life’ and ‘You’re Not Alone’. Bard has this year been quite vocal about his discontent with failing to win Melodifestivalen for a third time, voicing the possibility of his band BWO entering the Eurovision national selections for a different European country. Four schlager penning veterans also make multiple appearances on the list; Fredrik Kempe, Tomas G:son, and Anders Hansson all have three songs each on there, while Bobby Ljungren has four songs.

And finally, a quick glance through brings up a number of recording artists with a writing credit, suggesting that they will also be performing the song too – Emilia, Manz Zelmerlow, Sarah Dawn Finer, Jennifer Brown, Lasse Lindh, Caroline Af Ugglas, and of course Alcazar and BWO.

01 I got you (Rodrigo Pencheff, Tobias Karlsson)
02 Stay the night (Anders Hansson, M. Sanden, A. Lundstedt, Tess M. och L. Hedlund)
03 Love, love, love (Anders Hansson)
04 Show me Heaven (Sussie Päivärinta, C. Kindbom, Tomas G:son, Pär Lönn, N. Geli)
05 Med hjärtat fyllt av ljus (Ingela Pling Forsman, Bobby Ljunggren, Henrik Wikström)
06 Alla (Dimitri Stassos, Henrik Wikström, Irini Michas, Nina Karolidou)
07 What if? (Robin Abrahamsson, Amir Aly, Maciel Numhauser)
08 Så vill stjärnorna (Ingela Pling Forsman, Bobby Ljunggren, Marcos Ubeda)
09 Männskobarn (Ingela Pling Forsman, Bobby Ljunggren, Henrik Wikström)
10 Never been here before (Jennifer Brown, Peter Kvint)
11 Tick tock (Johan Lyander, Matti Alfonsetti)
12 Killing me tenderly (Amir Aly, Henrik Wikström, Tobbe Petterssen)
13 It’s my life (Alexander Bard, Bobby Ljunggren, Oscar Holter)
14 Moving On (Sarah Dawn-Finer, Fredrik Kempe)
15 Hope and Glory (Fredrik Kempe, Måns Zelmerlöw, Henrik Wikström)
16 Higher (Johan Fjellström, Joakim Udd, Johan Becker)
17 You’re not alone  (Fredrik Kempe, Alexander Bard, Anders Hansson)
18 Snälla, snälla (Caroline af Ugglas, Heinz Liljedal)
19 Här för mig själv (Tomas G:son, Marcos Ubeda)
20 Jag ska slåss i dina kvarter (Lasse Lindh)
21 Du vinner över mig (Tomas G:son)
22 Jag tror på oss (Lars Dille Diedrison, Martin Hedström, Ingela Pling Forsman)
23 Esta Noche (Michael Xavier Barraza, Jimmy Almgren, Adam Soliman)
24 1000 miles (Niklas Jarl, David Stenmarck)
25 You’re my world (Emilia Rydberg, Fredrik Figge Boström)
26 The Queen (Tony Nilsson, Henrik Jansson)
27 Welcome to my life (Samuel Waermö, Didrik Thott)
28 Den första kyssen (Lina Eriksson, Målgan B-son)


Visit our merchstore!