Kleering up the UK charts

  • Reading time:5 mins read
  • Post category:Uncategorized

This summer, the UK is going to witness the long overdue return to these shores of Kleerup. Andreas Kleerup was last here alongside Robyn when she was promoting the song that they wrote together, ‘With Every Heartbeat’. As you all know, it ended up being a massive hit, succeeding in endearing Robyn to a whole new demographic of fans. It not only gave her a hit, but also launched her successful album ‘Robyn’, and four subsequent singles. Job bloody well done!


kleerupWell Kleerup went on to release his self titles album in Scandinavia last year, where it was a big hit – particularly in his native Sweden. It’s a breathtaking and stunning album, full of beautiful songs echoing the now electro standard ‘With Every Heartbeat’. And thankfully, Positiva Record have signed him in the UK with a view to releasing the album in May. We’re even more delighted at the fact that they’ve chosen ‘Longing For Lullabies’ as the lead single. It’s our absolute favourite song of his and we hope to see it soaring up the UK singles chart prior to the album’s release date. We’ve already played it at EVERY one of the scandipop club nights so far and we’re not going to stop now!


‘Longing For Lullabies’ features the vocals of Titiyo, the younger sister of Neneh Cherry. It’s already been released as a single in Sweden and charted at number 10, beating the number 18 peak of his Robyn collaboration. His album also features guest vocals from Scandinavian chanteuse’s Lykke Li and Marit Bergman. Kleerup appeared on another of our favourite albums of 2008 – Cyndi Lauper’s ‘Bring Ya To The Brink’. He produced ‘Lay Me Down’.


Longtime Kleerup fans shouldn’t be frustrated or disappointed with the delay in getting new music, that a launch in a larger market usually causes though. Because before the album comes out in the UK, a brand new EP will be released. It’s going to be called ‘Hello Holla’. It’s contain four new songs, and is being touted as a vehicle to display Kleerup’s more alternative and edgier side. As pop fans, we don’t really like the sound of that, but as Kleerup fans, we’re bound to be in the minority. The four new songs are called, ‘Tower Of Trellick’, ‘3am – Munich Version’, ‘Iris’, and ‘Hello Holla’.


Have a listen to, and look at the amazing video for aforementioned and aforegushedabout single, ‘Longing For Lullabies’ below;

Visit our merchstore!