Denmark’s Melodi Grand Prix KICKS OFF!

  • Reading time:3 mins read
  • Post category:Eurovision


Earlier today, Danish broadcaster DR unveiled the names of the ten songs that will be competing in this year’s Melodi Grand Prix. And their songwriters. And the artists who will be performing them.

The competition takes place on Saturday, January 21st. And of course the winner will go on to represent Denmark at the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest.

Here they are;

01 – Jesper Nohrstedt – Take Our Hearts
Written by Morten Hampenberg, Mads B.B. Krog and Engelina Larsen

02. Valentine – Nowhere
Written by Søren Itenov, Tine Lynggard and Christoffer Stjerne

03. Aya – Best Thing I Got
Written by John Gordon & Julie Frost

04. Kenneth Potempa – Reach for the Sky
Written by Peter Bjørnskov, Lene Dissing & Sune Haansbæk

05. Ditte Marie – Overflow
Written by Mike Eriksson, Johnny Sanchez and Hanif “Hitmanic” Sabzevari

06. Emilia and Philip Halloun – Baby, Love Me
Written by Philip Halloun and Emilia

07. Suriya – Forever I Be Young
Written by Suriya, Jakob Winge and Thomas Hoffmann.

08. Karen Viuff – Universe
Written by Simon Borch, Lise Cabble and Boe Larsen

09. Soluna Samay – Should Have Known Better
Written by Chief 1 and Remee

10. Christian Brøns & Patrik Isaksson – Venter
Written by Christian Brøns, Patrik Isaksson and Rune Braager


Song 7’s artist Suriya is in fact Heidi of S.O.A.P fame.
Song 5’s Ditte Marie (pictured above) is the singer of Le Freak, who blessed the contest with this gem last year.
Song 9’s writer Remee is behind all of these hits.
Song 3’s writers also wrote the winning Eurovision song in 2010, Lena’s ‘Satellite’
Song 1’s writer Morten Hampenberg wrote this glorious track last year. The artist Jesper is from the Danish version of X Factor.



Visit our merchstore!