Denmark’s Melodi Grand Prix 2011: The Beginning!

  • Reading time:2 mins read
  • Post category:Uncategorized


Danish broadcaster, DR, revealed yesterday that 663 songs have been submitted to Denmark’s Melodi Grand Prix 2011 contest. That’s 101 entries more than last year, and all must be whittled down to only 6 songs that will compete in MGP in the spring time. Those 6 will be joined by 4 wildcards invited especially by DR.

It’s all quite far away and we’re only in the very early stages of course, but already there’s enough for us to get excited about, as DR have also revealed some of the names of composers that have entered. Below are the names that we’re most interested in, and in brackets beside them, some songs that they’ve either been partly or wholly responsible for before. More names will be revealed soon though.

Gustav Eurén (‘Kom’ by Timoteij, ‘Värsta Schlagern’ by Markoolio & Linda Bengtzing)
Claus Christensen (‘Drama Queen’ by DQ, ‘Come Come Run Away’ by Silas & Kat)
Simon Munk (‘Drama Queen’ by DQ, ‘Come Come Run Away’ by Silas & Kat)
Christina Schilling (‘Someday’ by Hera Bjork, ‘Et Cetera’ by Sinead Mulvey & Black Daisy)
Martin Michael Larsson (‘Kæmper For Kærlighed’ by Sukkerchok, ‘Believe Again’ by Brinck)
Lisa Cabble (‘Kæmper For Kærlighed’ by Sukkerchok, ‘Det Det’ by Sukkerchok)
The Fireflies (former Danish X Factor girlband who are working with super producers Soulshock & Karlin)

Visit our merchstore!